Annual Day banner

Annual Day Celebration

On June 9, 2017, we will celebrate those who have demonstrated innovation in scholarship, research, teaching and mentorship.


Training half of Ontario’s internal medicine specialists

Preparing postgraduates, fellows and faculty to meet the clinical needs of future populations

Grad Ceremony

Postgraduate Graduation Ceremony

On May 25, 2017 we will recognize the trainees and fellows who enrich the educational and research endeavours of our department.


Ninety inventor patents, $162M+ annual research funding, eight Rhodes Scholars


Improving clinical settings and quality of care

Message from the Chair

Gillian Hawker

Gillian Hawker, MD, MSc
Chair's Message  

The Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto is one of the oldest departments of its kind in North America, dating back to the founding of the School of Medicine in 1843.

Now, the Department of Medicine is one of the largest in North America, with 800 full-time faculty members, 1,000 postgraduate trainees, and 19 sub-specialty divisions located across six fully-affiliated hospitals, four community-affiliated hospitals and more than a dozen additional clinical practice sites. One third of Canada’s, and one half of Ontario’s, internal medicine specialists received their training here.  

Read more

Choosing Wisely Canada

Choosing Wisely Canada.

Values & Strategic Direction
The Department of Medicine: a catalyst, multiplier, facilitator
Back to Top