May 15, 2024

Dr. Moira Kapral appointed as Chair, Department of Medicine

Headshot of Dr. Moira Kapral

The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce that the Agenda Committee of the Academic Board has approved the appointment of Dr. Moira Kapral as Chair of the Department of Medicine for a five-year term beginning September 1, 2024. She will concurrently hold the Sir John and Lady Eaton Chair of Medicine.

Dr. Kapral is Professor and Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine, Temerty Medicine with a cross-appointment to the Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Prof. Kapral is the Lillian Love Chair in Women’s Health and Director of the Women’s Health Program at the University Health Network (UHN) and a Senior Scientist at the Toronto General Hospital Research Institute and ICES. Dr. Kapral obtained her MD and MSc in Clinical Epidemiology at UofT. She completed her residency training in Internal Medicine at UofT and served as Chief Medical Resident at UHN.

A general internist, Dr. Kapral is internationally recognized for her stroke health services research. The American Stroke Association recognized her contributions to research and mentorship in the area of stroke disparities with the Edgar J Kenton III Award in Disparities Research. For outstanding achievement in the field of general internal medicine, Dr. Kapral is the recipient of the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine’s Distinguished Service Award. She has held over $20 million in grant funding with career awards from CIHR and the Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada. Dr. Kapral is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada and serves on their Internal Medicine Board of Examiners.

Dr. Kapral’s peer-reviewed publications include more than 250 articles in top-ranked journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, Nature Reviews Neurology, Canadian Medical Association Journal, Neurology, JAMA Neurology and Stroke. She has been recognized for her dedication to education and mentorship with numerous awards, including Temerty Medicine’s W T Aikins Award for Teaching and, more recently, the Department’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching and UHN’s Scott-Vellend Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Kapral on her appointment. We would also like to offer sincere thanks and congratulations to Dr. Gillian Hawker for her excellent leadership of the department since 2014, and wish her the very best in the future.

Dr. Arno Kumagai, the department’s Vice Chair of Education, will serve as interim chair from July 1 to August 31, prior to the start of Dr. Kapral’s term.