Department of Medicine leadership

Our Leadership

The Department of Medicine is aptly led by a diverse team of senior leaders, who are recognized for their national and international contributions to academic medicine.

Our Executive Committee is comprised of clinicians who are early in their career, as well as those who are established. We have six physicians-in-chief who represent the department at the fully affiliated Toronto Academic Health Science Network (TAHSN) hospitals with the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto.

Education, Research, Quality and Innovation and Culture & Inclusion are the portfolios that drive the Department of Medicine’s strategic vision and mission – and each portfolio is led by one of four vice-chairs.

Each of our 20 divisions is led by a departmental division director, and the divisional residency and fellowship programs are supported by directors in each individual division.

Department of Medicine Executive Committee

Senior Executive  
Gillian Hawker Sir John and Lady Eaton Professor and Chair of Medicine
Jane Batt Vice-Chair, Research
Arno Kumagai Vice-Chair, Education
Kaveh Shojania Vice-Chair, Quality and Innovation
Chaim Bell Sinai Health System
Kathryn Tinckam University Health Network
Paula Harvey Women's College Hospital
Michelle Hladunewich Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Gary Naglie Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
Sharon Straus St. Michael's Hospital
Department Division Directors  
Susanna Mak Cardiology
Stephen Betschel Clinical Immunology & Allergy
Peter Wu Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology
Laurent Brochard Critical Care
Vincent Piguet Dermatology
Erin O'Connor Emergency Medicine
Jacqueline James Endocrinology & Metabolism
Laura Targownik Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Moira Kapral General Internal Medicine
Barbara Liu Geriatric Medicine
Michelle Sholzberg Hematology
Jennie Johnstone Infectious Diseases
Eitan Amir Medical Oncology
Heather Reich Nephrology
David Tang-Wai Neurology
Joan Saary Occupational Medicine
Ebru Kaya Pallative Medicine
Larry Robinson Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Chung-Wai Chow Respirology
Heather McDonald-Blumer Rheumatology
Mamatha Bhat Director, Eliot Phillipson Clinician-Scientist Training Program
Lindsay Melvin (Interim) Director, Internal Medicine Training Program
Cheryl Jaigobin Director, Fellowship Programs
Luke Devine Director, Undergraduate Medical Education
Brian Wong Director, Continuing Education and Quality Improvement
Faculty Lead – Early Career Faculty  
Erica Tsang Assistant Professor, Clinician-Investigator
Yayi Huang Assistant Professor, Clinician-Teacher
Senior Administration  
Kerri Bailey Director, Business and Administration
Sarah Jung Manager, Academic Programs 
Asia Ferrara Manager, Academic Programs (Specialty)
Monica Flak Strategic Planning Officer
Kristian Galberg Research Officer
Alexandra Gilliss Communications Officer