Endowed Chairs and Canada Research Chairs

Endowed Chairs in the Department of Medicine

The Department of Medicine holds 19 endowed chairs that support research and other initiatives (including the Sir John and Lady Eaton Professor and Chair of Medicine). Department of Medicine faculty additionally hold over 60 endowed chair positions at the Temerty Faculty of Medicine and across the Toronto Academic Health Sciences Network. Information about the Canada Research Chairs program, which is currently supporting 17 faculty members, is below.

Photo of Shabbir Alibhai

Shabbir Alibhai

George, Margaret and Gary Hunt Family Chair in Geriatric Medicine

Photo of Peter Carlen

Peter Carlen

Anne and Max Tanenbaum Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at Toronto General Hospital

Photo of Chung-Wai Chow

Chung-Wai Chow

Godfrey S Petit Chair in Respirology Medicine

Photo of Breffni Hannon

Breffni Hannon

Rose Family Chair in Palliative Medicine and Supportive Care

Photo of Christine Lay

Christine Lay

Deborah Ivy Christiani Brill Chair in Neurology Research

Photo of Barbara Liu

Barbara Liu

Mary Trimmer Chair in Geriatric Medicine

Photo of Minakshi Madan

Minakshi Madan

Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario Polo Chair

Photo of Susanna Mak

Susanna Mak

Dr. Dexter Hung-Cho Man Chair in Cardiology

Photo of Heather McDonald-Blumer

Heather McDonald-Blumer

Pfizer Canada Chair in Rheumatology

Photo of Mario Ostrowski

Mario Ostrowski

OHTN Chair in HIV/AIDS Research

Photo of Heather Reich

Heather Reich

Baxter Oreopoulos Chair in Nephrology Research

Photo of Paula Rochon

Paula Rochon

RTO ERO Chair in Geriatric Medicine

Photo of Baiju Shah

Baiju Shah

Novo Nordisk Research Chair in Equitable Care of Diabetes and Related Conditions

To be announced

  • Elizabeth Hoffman Chair in Translational Medical Research

  • Gabor Zellerman Chair in Nephrology Research 

  • Alexandra Yeo Chair in Benign Hematology

  • Mr. Mak Pak Chiu and Mrs. Mak-Soo Lai Chair in General Internal Medicine

  • Drucker Family Chair in Diabetes Research

Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRC) invests approximately $265 million per year across Canadian academic institutions to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds. Chair holders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

Photo of Gillian Booth

Gillian Booth 

Canada Research Chair in Policy solutions for Diabetes Prevention and Management (Tier 1)

Photo of Angela Cheung

Angela Cheung

Canada Research Chair in Musculoskeletal and Postmenopausal Health (Tier 1)

Photo of Ken Croitoru

Ken Croitoru

Canada Research Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (Tier 1)

Photo of Lihi Eder

Lihi Eder

Canada Research Chair in Inflammatory Rheumatic Diseases (Tier 2)

Photo of Herbert Gaisano

Herbert Gaisano

Canada Research Chair in Diseases of the Exocrine and Endocrine Pancreas (Tier 1)

Photo of Shiphra Ginsburg

Shiphra Ginsburg

Canada Research Chair in Health Professions Education (Tier 1)

Photo of Margaret Herridge

Margaret Herridge

Canada Research Chair in Critical Illness Outcomes and the Recovery Continuum (Tier 1)

Photo of Tony Lam

Tony Lam

Canada Research Chair in Obesity (Tier 1)

Photo of Warren Lee

Warren Lee

Canada Research Chair in Mechanisms of Endothelial Permeability (Tier 2)

Photo of Sharmistha Mishra

Sharmistha Misra

Canada Research Chair in Mathematical Modeling and Program Science (Tier 2)

Photo of Steven Narod

Steven Narod

Canada Research Chair in Breast Cancer (Tier 1)

Photo of Fahad Razak

Fahad Razak

Canada Research Chair in Data-Informed Health Care Improvement (Tier 2)

Photo of Donald Redelmeier

Donald Redelmeier

Canada Research Chair in Medical Decision Sciences (Tier 1)

Photo of Darrell Tan

Darrell Tan

Canada Research Chair in HIV Prevention and STI Research (Tier 2)

Photo of Paaladinesh Thavendiranathan

Paaladinesh Thavendiranathan

Canada Research Chair in Cardio-Oncology (Tier 2)

Photo of Harindra Wijeysundera

Harindra Wijeysundera

Canada Research Chair in Structural Heart Disease Policy and Outcomes (Tier 2)

Photo of Darren Yuen

Darren Yuen

Canada Research Chair in Fibrotic Injury (Tier 2)