Call for Nomination: 2018 CAME Certificate of Merit

Nov 30, 2017

All day


On behalf of the Faculty of Medicine:

Every year, the Canadian Association of Medical Educators recognizes outstanding educators in Canadian Medical Schools through a variety of annual awards. Among these are the CAME Certificate of Merit Awards, which recognize faculty committed to advancing medical education.
The University of Toronto is entitled to award up to 3 of these Certificates of Merit, and last year, we were very pleased to recognize Dr. Cynthia Whitehead, Dr. Paolo Campisi, and Dr. Maria Mylolopolous for their significant contributions to medical education.

At this time, we warmly invite you to submit nominations for the 2018 CAME Certificate of Merit competition.

Nominee Criteria

CAME Certificate of Merit recipients will have made a valuable contribution to medical education (within any portfolio, including undergraduate, postgraduate, continuing education and faculty development) in the areas of teaching, evaluation, leadership, course coordination, etc., but will not have already been nationally recognized for this contribution. Recipients need not be members of CAME.

Should you wish to nominate a Department of Medicine faculty member or have any questions about the internal nomination process, please contact Drs. Arno Kumagai and Martin Schreiber as soon as possible by email c/o Christian Base.

Nomination Procedures

Each Department and Education Centre of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto is eligible to nominate one faculty member for a Certificate of Merit. Nominations consist of a letter from the Department Chair or Vice-Chair Education, or Education Centre Director as appropriate outlining the specific contributions of the faculty member in the area of education. Letters should not exceed two pages, and it is not necessary to append CVs, teaching dossiers or other documents. A decision about the 3 awardees will be made by a selection committee and will be made based on the letter from the Department Chair, Vice-Chair or Education Centre Director.

Nomination letters should be submitted electronically by Thursday November 30 to Anne Matlow, U of T’s CAME Representative, c/o the Office of the Education Vice-Deans at

Should you have any questions or concerns about the award, please don’t hesitate to contact Dr. Matlow directly.


Anne Matlow MD FRCPC
Professor of Medicine, Paediatrics, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Faculty Lead, Strategic Initiatives
Post MD Education
University of Toronto
500 University Ave Suite 602
Toronto Ontario M5G1V7
Phone 416 978 2618         Fax 416 978 7144

Back to Top