Sep 6, 2022

Appointments & Awards: September 2022

Cardiology, Endocrinology & Metabolism, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Geriatric Medicine, Neurology


Minna Woo, appointed Director of the Banting and Best Diabetes Centre

Baiju Shah, appointed Novo Nordisk Research Chair in Equitable Care of Diabetes and Related Conditions


Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Department of Medicine

Talia Zenlea, Dr. Louis J Cole Award, Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Division of Geriatric Medicine, Department of Medicine

Terumi Izukawa, Barry J. Goldlist Teacher of the Year Award, Department of Medicine, Division of Geriatric Medicine

This Barry J. Goldlist Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually to a division member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching in the postgraduate program by the current year’s resident cohort. 

Shelley Veinish, 2022 Medical Education Award, Baycrest Health Sciences

Division of Endocrinology

Arno Kumagai, John A. Benson MD Professionalism Article Prize, American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation

Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine

Anthony Lang, Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize, University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine

Sandra Black, Distinguished Service Award, Alzheimer's Association

Esther Bui, Department of Medicine Excellence in Teaching Award - Undergraduate, University Health Network - Sinai Health System

Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine

Douglas Lee, Gustavo Saposnik (Neurology), Heart Brain Connection IMPACT Award, Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada and Brain Canada