Cardiology: Welcome

The Division of Cardiology at the University of Toronto is the largest cardiology division in Canada. It is comprised of over 100 faculty in five teaching hospitals and four hospital units. We are fortunate to have outstanding faculty covering all areas of cardiovascular medicine, including basic, translational, clinical trial, and epidemiologic and health services research, as well as faculty experts in quality improvement, educational research, and administration. There is close collaboration between the teaching hospitals making up the division, and extensive collaborations between the members of the division and other divisions in the Department of Medicine, the Departments of Cardiovascular Surgery, Medical Imaging, Pathology, Physiology and other basic sciences and Engineering. Members of the department are at the forefront nationally and internationally in a wide variety of academic areas of interest, including large scale clinical trials, clinical epidemiology, educational research, and basic and translational science. The large residency program (25-30 residents in the cardiology training program, as well as over 50 postgraduate subspecialty fellows) allows a national and international collaborative network, and the presence of University of Toronto trained cardiologists nationally and internationally.

Back to Division of Cardiology