Emergency Medicine: Anna Jarvis Award For Teaching Excellence

Anna Jarvis Award for Teaching Excellence in Emergency Medicine

Current Recipient(s)                    
About Anna Jarvis                        
Nomination Criteria                         
Past Winners 


The Anna Jarvis Award for Teaching Excellence in Emergency Medicine was established in 1993 to recognize excellence in formal teaching among the faculty in Emergency Medicine. Formal teaching includes that occurring at bedside, didactic lectures and seminars/workshops.                                                        

The FRCP-EM and CCFP-EM programs nominate recipients based on four criteria: academic involvement, clinical exposure, commitment to resident needs, and research activities. A committee, consisting of an ED Chief (named by the department division director), the residency program director, the division director, and two resident representatives reviews the nominees teaching effectiveness and participation. They then select one recipient for each program.

Current Recipient(s)

Michelle Klaiman.jpg

Dr. Michelle Klaiman

Dr. Michelle Klaiman is a full-time emergency medicine physician at St. Michael’s Hospital and a clinician-teacher in the Department of Medicine. In addition, she has a hospital and community addiction medicine practice. She completed her FRCPC residency at UofT and a fellowship in addiction medicine at CAMH. Her educational activities include teaching in and out of the ED at the undergrad, postgrad MD and fellowship levels, and regularly speaks at CME events. She has recently become involved in FOAMED through EM Cases. Dr. Klaiman is the emergency medicine clinical clerk site coordinator at SMH and is involved in a variety of research activities focused on improving the care of ED patients with addictions medicine related diagnoses. Outside of work, Dr. Klaiman enjoys music, food, travel, fitness and spending time with her family.

Anna Jarvis.jpg

About Dr. Anna Jarvis

Dr. Anna Jarvis is Professor Emerita, Department of Paediatrics, University of Toronto. She was involved in the establishment of emergency medicine (EM) and paediatric emergency (PEM) as Canadian specialties, and current Canadian Emergency Department Triage standards. Major leadership contributions include collaborations with: The  University of Toronto, Department of Paediatrics and The Hospital for Sick Children; Royal College Specialty Examination Boards; Canadian Paediatric Association PEM Section; Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians; Toronto Emergency Services; The Michener Institute for Applied Health Sciences, Life Support Program; American Academy of Pediatrics; Greater Toronto Child Health Network; and Credit Valley Hospital.

Her passion and commitment to improve children’s health outcomes led to collaborations with multiple healthcare professional groups. While the Associate Dean Health Professions, Student Affairs, Toronto, she developed and coordinated student support services. Equal emphasis was placed on student academics, life enrichment and encouragement to become contributing citizens. A committed mentor she continues to support faculty, current and former trainees as their careers evolve, especially international PEM graduates as they introduce PEM in their home countries.

FRCP Nomination Criteria


To be eligible, faculty must be:

  1. Appointed to the Division of Emergency Medicine in the Department of Medicine during the academic year the award recognizes, and;
  2. Have at least one postgraduate Teaching Evaluation Score (TES) in the POWER system for one of the past three academic year with a top quintile score for that year, and have presented in each of the three past years in at least two of the following activities: Group A/B rounds, Grand Rounds, M&M rounds, Journal Club, mock oral examinations or academic afternoon sessions as listed below.
  3. Not have won an Anna Jarvis Award in the prior five years.

Among eligible faculty, factors from the past three years to be considered for choosing a winner include, in rank order:

  1. All TES scores in postgraduate
  2. Evaluations of other didactic presentations in the year such as Group A and/or B rounds, grand rounds, clinical epidemiology rounds and other divisional education events
  3. Preparation/teaching of afternoon academic sessions, such as geriatrics, clinical epidemiology, ethics, emergency ultrasound, administration. 
  4. Participates in formal resident mentoring system.
  5. Attendance/participation at academic half-day case presentations, grand rounds, and monthly journal clubs.
  6. Participation in bi-annual program oral examinations and written examinations.
  7. Is involved in supervising resident scholarly activity projects.
  8. Provides a role model to residents of the importance of academic endeavours via research, education, administrative or quality/safety activities.

Award Process:

All faculty meeting eligibility criteria will be automatically considered. The award is presented during the Research Academic Day and the recipient receives a commemorative plaque

Past Recipients


Year Recipent(s) Site
2018 Michelle Klaiman St Michael's Hospital
2017 Telisha Smith Gorvie University Health Network
2016 Margaret Thompson St Michael's Hospital
2015 Clare Atzema

Sunnybrook Health Science Centre

  David Homuth North York General Hospital
2014 Jordan Chenkin Sunnybrook Health Science Centre
  Dinesh Krishna North York General Hospital
2013 John King North York General Hospital
  Vsevolod (Sev) Perelman Mount Sinai Hospital
2012 Chris Hicks St Michael's Hospital
  Michael Wansbrough Mount Sinai Hospital
2011 Karen Woolfrey Sunnybrook Health Science Centre
  Nick Scampoli Credit Valley Hospital
2010 Carolyn Snider St Michael's Hospital
  Richard Kim St Joseph's Health Centre
2009 Joel Yaphe University Health Network
  Maria Ivankovic  
2008 Anil Chopra University Health Network
  Peter Toth Credit Valley Hospital
2007 Brian Steinhart St Michael's Hospital
  Angelo Mikrogianakis Hospital for Sick Children
2006 Michael Schull Sunnybrook Health Science Centre
  John Foote Credit Valley Hospital
2005 Glen Bandiera St Michael's Hospital
  David Dushenski Mount Sinai Hospital
2004 Rick Verbeek Sunnybrook & Women's College
  Arun Sayal North York General
2003 Dan Cass St. Michael's Hospital
  Samir Patel Credit Valley Hospital
2002  Shirley Lee Mount Sinai Hospital
  Laurie Mazurik Sunnybrook & Women's College
2001 Tim Rutledge North York General
2000 Ivy Cheng Sunnybrook & Women's College
  John Foote Credit Valley Hospital
1999 Douglas Baggs St Michael's Hospital
  Dennis Scolnik Hospital for Sick Children
1998 Joel Lexchin University Health Network
  Eric Letovsky Credit Valley Hospital
1997 Howard Ovens Mount Sinai Hospital
  Julie Spence St Michael's Hospital
1996 Andrew McCallum Sunnybrook & Women's College
  Isser Dubinsky University Health Network
1994 Anna Jarvis Hospital for Sick Children
  Margaret Thompson St Michael's Hospital
1993 Laurie Mazurik Sunnybrook & Women's College


Back to the Division of Emergency Medicine