Dec 9, 2019

Appointments & Awards: December 2019

About Us, Faculty, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Nephrology, Cardiology, Hematology, Division of Dermatology, General Internal Medicine, Neurology, Respirology, Endocrinology & Metabolism, Medical Oncology


PM&R: The journal of injury, function and rehabilitation

Shane Journeay, Senior Editor


American Society of Nephrology

David Cherney, Distinguished Researcher Award
This award recognizes midcareer clinicians, educators, health professionals and researchers who have made extraordinary contributions to the field of nephrology, as well those who have exemplified outstanding service to society. 

Canadian Cardiovascular Congress

Paul Dorian, Canadian Heart Rhythm Society Annual Achievement Award

Heather Ross, Canadian Heart Failure Society's Annual Ahcievement Award

Canadian Hematology Society

Victor Blanchette, Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes Dr. Blanchette's dedication to the field of pediatric hematology, his exceptional mentorship and his inestimable contribution to the health of children both in Canada and around the world. 

Ayesh Seneviratne, Paper of the Year Award
This award acknowledges the best hematology paper in Canada, as nominated by CHS members.

Melanoma Network of Canada

Cheryl Rosen, Sean Faught Change-Maker Award
Dr. Cheryl Rosen received the 2019 Sean Faught Change-Maker Award from the Melanoma Network of Canada at their first annual 'Cover Up for Melanoma' Masquerade Gala. The event raised over $125,00 for melanoma research, prevention, patient support programs and advocacy.

Ontario Ministry of Economic Development

Karen Okrainec, Early Researcher Award
The highly competitive program provides funding for new researchers to build their research teams. 

Symposium for Hidradenitis Suppurativa Advances 

Afsaneh Alavi, SHSA Award
Dr. Afsaneh Alavi received the prestigious SHSA Award at the 4th Annual Symposium on Hidradenitis Suppurativa Advances for her dedication to improving HS patient care and groundbreaking contributions to bringing the HS community together. Some of the 'firsts' that earned Dr. Alavi this award include: founding the Canadian Hidradenitis Suppurativa Foundation (CHSF) in 2015 and serving as its President for over a year; being the main editor of the first JAAD supplement on HS in 2015; chairing the first World Congress of Dermatology Global HS meeting in Vancouver in 2016, and starting the annual SHSA, the first north American meeting for HS.

Web of Science Group

Anthony E. Lang, Arthur S. Slutsky, Bernard Zinman, Frances A. Shepherd, Laurent Brochard, Lawrence A. Leiter, Peter Juni, Tak W. Mak, Xavier Montalban, Highly Cited Researchers List
This list recognizes the world's most influential researchers of the past decade, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in Web of Science.

Women's Executive Network

Janet Hux, Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100
Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100™ was created to recognize the incredible accomplishments of women, develop a community of support, and increase the visibility of strong leaders in order to inspire future generations.