Jan 31, 2024

Appointments & Awards: February 2024

Endocrinology & Metabolism, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Geriatric Medicine, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Respirology, Rheumatology


Gary Naglie, appointed to the Ontario Hospital Association’s Physician Leadership Committee

Lindy Romanovsky, accepted into the Physician Leadership Program, Ontario Medical Association

  • The Ontario Medical Association, in partnership with U of T's Rotman School of Management, has created the Physician Leadership Program to build leadership skills in 30 participating physicians each year who will test and refine big ideas to drive broad health system change.


Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism

Sandra Kim and co-authors Rowena Ridout (Endocrinology & Metabolism), Heather McDonald-Blumer (Rheumatology), Angela Cheung (General Internal Medicine), Lianne Tile (General Internal Medicine) and Robert Josse (Endocrinology & Metabolism), First Place for the article Clinical practice guideline for management of osteoporosis and fracture prevention in Canada: 2023 updateCanadian Medical Association Journal's list of most-read articles for 2023

Iliana Lega, Second Place for the article A pragmatic approach to the management of menopauseCanadian Medical Association Journal's list of most-read articles for 2023

Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Sun-Ho LeeAncillary R01 grant, National Institutes of Health 

Division of Geriatric Medicine

Samir Sinha, Clarkson Laureateship for Public Service, Massey College

  • The Clarkson Laureateship for Public Service is the highest honour Massey College awards annually to members of its community who exemplify the values of public service and volunteer their time at Massey or elsewhere to contribute to the common good.

Christina Reppas-Rindlisbacher, Resident Research Grant, PSI Foundation

Division of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Heather MacNeill, 2024 CAME Certificate of Merit, Canadian Association for Medical Education

Division of Respirology

Sarah Brode, 2024 Early Career Researcher Award, Canadian Training Platform for Trials Leveraging Existing Networks (CAN-TAP-TALENT)

Division of Rheumatology

Joan WitherCIHR grant for her project Characterization of the T cell populations that regulate autoimmunity in asymptomatic anti-nuclear positive individuals and how they become altered in early untreated systemic autoimmune rheumatic disease