Jun 5, 2018

Appointments & Awards: June 2018

About Us, Education, Faculty, Quality & Innovation, Research, Respirology, Rheumatology, Geriatric Medicine, Nephrology


Nigil Haroon, Executive Committee of the Spondyloarthritis Research & Treatment Network (SPARTAN), Scientific Subcommittee

Jakov Moric, Head of the Division of Respirology, Women’s College Hospital


American Geriatrics Society

Jennifer Watt, Presidential Poster Award, Epidemiology 

American Thoracic Society

Susan M. Tarlo, ATS Assembly on Environmental, Occupational and Population Health John Peters Award
This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to occupational or environmental medicine through leadership in research, education or public health.

Margaret Herridge, ATS Assembly on Critical Care Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is given in appreciation of a career devoted to research and teaching of the science and practice of critical care medicine as well as outstanding service to the Assembly on Critical Care.

Canadian Medical Association

Andreas Laupacis, F.N.G. Starr Award
The Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr Award represents the highest award that lies within the power of the Canadian Medical Association to bestow upon one of its members. Achievement is the prime requisite in determining the recipient of this award.

Governor General of Canada

Kamran Khan, Governor General's Innovation Award
This award celebrates excellence in innovation across all sectors of Canadian society, inspire Canadians, particularly Canadian youth, to be entrepreneurial innovators and fosters an active culture of innovation that has a meaningful impact on our lives. 

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Harvey Wong, Peters-Boyd Academy Award for Undergraduate Teaching

University of Toronto Medical Alumni Association

Martin Schreiber, The David Eberle Memorial Alumni Award
Recipients of this award are selected by the graduating class. It is awarded to a staff member, for acting as a role model for, and for displaying outstanding compassion and guidance to undergraduate medical students.