Jun 11, 2020

Appointments & Awards: June 2020


Jackie Hochman, U of T Wellness Site Lead for Women's College Hospital Department of Medicine


American Diabetes Association

Bernie Zinman, Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Research Award
This award was established in 2015 to recognize individuals for outstanding contributions in patient-oriented clinical outcomes research having significant impact on diabetes prevention and treatment.   

American Society of Neurology

Mark Boulos, Wayne A. Hening Sleep Medicine Investigator Award
The Wayne A. Hening Award is given to a young investigator in recognition of outstanding achievements in Sleep Science research.

Canadian Geriatrics Society

Maria Zorzitto, Ronald Cape Distinguished Service Award
The Canadian Geriatrics Society presents this award to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the health care of older adults in Canada. 

College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario

Michelle Hladunewich, 2019 Council Award
The award from the CPSO is one of 4 given out each year. Dr. Hladunewich is recognized for her outstanding impact on high-risk pregnancies in Ontario.


Bourne Auguste, CMAJ - 25 Most Read Articles from 2019
Dr. Auguste’s submitted article, “Vitamin D Toxicity and Kidney Damage” was rated the 2nd most read article in the CMAJ from 2019

Continuing Professional Development, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Rene Wong, Colin Woolf Award - Long Term Contributions to CPD
This award recognizes faculty members who demonstrate excellence in research, teaching, scholarship, innovation, teamwork and long-term commitment to CPD. 

Claire Acton, Kate Hayman, Evelyn Dell, David Fear Fellowship

Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

Sissi Cao, Jay Keystone Global Health Award
The Jay Keystone Global Health Award was established in memory of Dr. Jay Keystone, an internationally recognized expert in the fields of Travel and Tropical Medicine. The Jay Keystone Global Health Award will be annually awarded to a trainee (resident or fellow) in the Department of Medicine for the purpose of conducting research in global health.

Division of Hematology, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

Jeannie Callum, Armand Keating Award
The Keating Award is presented as the “paper of the year” within our division, defined as a published paper that is judged by the committee to make a very impactful contribution to our field. 

Matthew Cheung, Jerry Scott Teaching Award
Outstanding educational contribution to the Division of Hematology and to the Faculty of Medicine in the area of undergraduate, postgraduate and/or continuing professional education

Abi Vijenthira, Dominic Pantalony Hematology Resident Award
Resident or fellow who demonstrates passion for hematology and education, and displays the highest professionalism and collegiality

Rena Buckstein, Michael A. Baker Mentorship Award
The Michael A Baker Mentorship Award was created in the Division of Hematology to recognize the individual or individuals who have demonstrated excellence in providing mentorship  for residents or younger staff in the division. The winner or winners are determined by sending a standardized assessment of the quality and quantity of mentorship to members of the Division. The 2019 winners were Dr. Aaron Schimmer and Dr. Vikas Gupta. The 2020 winner was Dr. Rena Buckstein. The award is named for Dr. Michael A Baker who was a former head of the Division of Hematology and who is recognized as a pivotal and committed mentor to many of the members of the Division.

Abi Vijenthira, Kristine Matusiak and Fatima Khadadah; Christine Chen,  Matthew Cheung, Eric Tseng, Larissa Liontos, Anca Prica, Hassan Sibai and Lisa Chodirker, Heme Team Hero Award
The sincere appreciation for residents who have gone that ‘extra mile’ for patient care and resident education and those staff who were highlighted several times by residents for prioritizing resident needs, education, collegiality, and/or are examples for outstanding leadership

Douglas Wright Foundation

April Rose, Douglas Wright Melanoma Award
Under the direction and supervision of an interdisciplinary advisory committee within the Faculty of Medicine, overseen by the Chair of the Department of Medicine, one annual award of $30,000 will be available to residents and fellows in the Department of Medicine.

Osteoarthritis & Cartilage Journal

Gillian Hawker, Osteoarthritis & Cartilage Journal Clinical Research Award
The purpose of the OARSI Clinical Research Award is to recognize excellence in clinical research related to osteoarthritis.


Edwards Etchells, 2020 PARO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award for the University of Toronto

Postgraduate Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Sharon Straus, Sarita Verma Award
This award is in recognition of Dr. Straus' exemplary work in leadership, mentorship, residency advocacy and commitment to social responsibilities in UofT Postgraduate Medicine.