Mar 9, 2020

Appointments & Awards: March 2020

About Us, Faculty, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Division of Dermatology, Geriatric Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism, General Internal Medicine


McMaster University, Hamilton Health Sciences, St. Joseph's Hospital

Nora Cullen, Chief, Division of PM&R, Department of Medicine, McMaster University; Chair, Department of PM&R, Hamilton Health Sciences; Chief, PM&R, St. Joseph's Hospital, Hamilton


American Acadamy of Dermatology

Aaron Drucker, Young Investigator Award
The purpose of the award is to acknowledge significant research advances in the science and practice of dermatology by those beginning their research careers and who demonstrate the potential to become established, independently-funded investigators in dermatology. 

American College of Rehumatology

Ronald Laxer, ACR Master
Recognition as a Master of the American College of Rheumatology is one of the highest honors the College bestows to members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and/or service to their patients, students, and profession.

Canadian Dermatology Foundation

Aaron Drucker and Vincent Piguet, Team Grant on Th2 Inflammatory Disease

Canadian Geriatrics Society

Marisa Zorzitto, Ronald Cape Distinguished Service Award
The award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of geriatrics in Canada.  

Canadian Rheumatology Association

Claire Bombardier, Robert Inman, Edward Keystone, Dafna Gladman, Carter Thorne, Murray Urowitz, Arthur Bookman, Ronald Laxer, CRA Master Award 2020
This award recognizes CRA members aged 65 and older, who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology and excelled in one or more of the following ways: outstanding service to patients, outstanding administrative service, excellence in rheumatology teaching and education, and/or excellence in rheumatology research.

Dharini Mahendira, Emerging Teacher Educator Award
Recognition of a Canadian educator who has contributed to education in rheumatology or medicine. 

MD Program, University of Toronto

Department of Medicine Faculty, MD Program Teaching Award
87 Department of Medicine faculty members are among the recipients of the MD Program Teaching Award for Excellence, a new initiative introduced by University of Toronto medical students. The award recognizes faculty in the MD Program that have attained Teaching Evaluation Scores in the top 10% in one or more of the teaching activities to which they have contributed. Click here to see the list of DoM faculty who received this award.

Professional Association of Residents of Ontario (PARO)

Ed Etchells, Barb Haas, PARO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award
The objective of the PARO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award is to publicly acknowledge the essential role that good clinical teachers play in the training of new physicians. 

Trivandrum Medical College

Nigil Haroon, Diamond Jubilee Oration and Distinguished Alumnus Awar 

University of Toronto

Stephen Hwang, President's Impact Award
This award honours Dr. Hwang's work to improve the health of people experiencing homelessness and to make social justice and health equity central to medical practice

Women's College Hospital

Geetha Mukerji, Quality Improvement Research Award

Tara O'Brien, Quality Improvement Research Award
Project: Acute Ambulatory Care of the Vulnerably Housed