May 2, 2022

Appointments & Awards: May 2022

About Us, Cardiology, Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology, Culture & Inclusion, Division of Dermatology, Endocrinology & Metabolism, Faculty, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, General Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Neurology, Quality & Innovation, Rheumatology, Palliative Medicine


Christopher Chan, elected the Board of Directors of the International Society for Hemodialysis

Esther Bui, elected the Director of Education for the 2021 – 2023 Board of Directors, The Canadian League Against Epilepsy


Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine

Hani Amad, W. T. Aikins Award 2022, ,Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Filio Billia, Mali Worme, Andrew Ha, 2022 Physician QI Grants, UHN

Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Medicine

Jiwon Oh, CanProCo and Pediatric-Onset MS Grant, MS Society of Canada, Brain Canada, Biogen-Idec, Roche

Division of Dermatology, Department of Medicine

An-Wen Chan, Best Paper Award, Women’s College Hospital

Division of Endocrinology, Department of Medicine

Arno Kumagai, 2022, John A. Benson, Jr. M.D. Professionalism Paper Prize, American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation

Gary Lewis, SPOR Networks grant, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine

Scott Fung, 2022 CASL Education Excellence Award, Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver

Johane Allard, 2022 Khursheed Jeejeebhoy Award, Canadian Nutrition Society

Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine

Alison Lai and Vanessa Zanella, Chang / HoPingKong GIM Clinic Scholar Award
This is a prestigious award funded through the Chang Professorship held by Tom MacMillan and the HoPingKong Chair held by David Frost, in order to facilitate continuity of care in the TWH GIM clinic with frequent clinic attending/presence, and to facilitate the recipient’s contribution to improving excellence in GIM Clinic Care, including new models of care and new educational innovations.

Lynfa Stroud, 2022 Leo Steven’s Leadership Award, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
The Leo N. Steven Excellence in Leadership Award was created in recognition of Leo’s legacy of positive change and sound leadership. Its awardees are those who, like Leo, have devoted time and energy to improving the Hospital and healthcare system, provided mentorship and leadership to others, and ensured that opportunities exist to train, develop and nurture our existing leaders and support our rising stars.

Division of Geriatrics, Department of Medicine

The WCH Wound Care Clinic, under the direction of Carol Ott, Excellence in Collaborative Ambulatory Care, Women’s College Hospital
The Excellence in Collaborative Ambulatory Care Award recognizes an individual or team that exemplifies excellence in collaborative, patient centered care and demonstrates a bold commitment to improve quality of care and patient experience.

Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine

Andrea Boggild, 2022 IGNITE Mentorship Award, Temerty Faculty of Medicine Community of Support

Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine

Carmela Tartaglia, Dalia Rotstein, Houman Khosravani, Jeff Wang, Joanna Schaafsma and Suvendrini Lena, Slamen-Fast New Initiatives in Neurology, Division of Neurology, University of Toronto

Morris Freedman, International Prize in Alzheimer’s Research, The Sam & Ida Ross International Foundation

Sara Mitchell, Sunnybrook Education Advisory Council (SEAC) Innovative Curriculum  Award, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
The Excellence in Education Awards are designed to recognize the education achievements of Sunnybrook’s staff, physicians or volunteers, and their passion for teaching and learning.

Houman Khosravani, Sunnybrook Education Advisory Council (SEAC) Student Experience Award, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Joanna Schaafsma, AMO Innovation Funding 2022-2024, Mount Sinai Hospital, University Health Network

Amy Yu, 2022 Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize, American Academy of Neurology
The Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize is given in recognition of outstanding achievements in expanding the field of stroke research. 

Division of Palliative Medicine, Department of Medicine

Camilla Zimmermann, 2021-2022 Temerty Faculty of Medicine Graduate Teaching Award: Mid-Career Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship, Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Division of Rheumatology, Department of Medicine

Sahil Koppikar, 2022 WCH Teacher/Educator Education Award, Women's College Hospital
Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to teaching or to supervision of students/learners at WCH. Nominators should emphasize the supervisor’s skills in areas such as: organization of the education experience; provision of constructive, balanced feedback; and creation of a positive student-supervisor relationship. Up to 2 awards will be reserved for new teachers, recognizing overall excellence in teaching or supervision of students/learners, among members in their first three years at Women’s College Hospital.