Oct 7, 2019

Appointments & Awards: October 2019

About Us, Respirology, General Internal Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism, Neurology, Cardiology, Nephrology


Asthma Canada

Samir Gupta, 2019 Lead Investigator Award
This award honours Dr. Gupta's work on the use of an electronic asthma management system to help close gaps in asthma care, and for his research achievements. 

Department of Medicine, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Brian J. Murray, Medical Grand Rounds of the Year
‘Research Ethics - A Focus on Education And How to Effectively Interact with the Research Ethics Board’

Steven Shadowtiz, William J. Sibbald Faculty Mentorship Award
The Mentorship Award recognizes commitment to supporting and advancing the next generation of the department. The nomination for this award came from the mentees themselves: junior faculty, fellows and residents.

Umberin Najeeb, Humanitarian Award
This award recognizes individuals in the Department who are exemplars of humanistic and humanitarian practice.

Hypertension Canada

John Floras, Senior Investigator Award
The Senior Investigator Award recognizes research in hypertension or blood pressure by an individual. A nominee must have made significant contributions to the advancement and extension of knowledge in basic, clinical, health services or population based research specifically relating to hypertension or blood pressure.

International Psychoanalytical Association

Gavril Hercz, IPA Community Award in Health
This award recognizes Dr. Hercz's work in psychonephrology, a psychodynamic approach to enhanced psychosocial care for patients treated with dialysis or transplant.

University of Toronto, Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism

Dina Reiss, Robert Volpé Undergraduate Teaching Award in Endocrinology and Metabolism
This award recognizes excellence in teaching, educational leadership and educational administration at the undergraduate level of members of the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of Toronto.

Diane Donat, George L. A. From Endocrinology Postgraduate Teaching Award

This award recognizes teachers in the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism who are outstanding based on their teaching effectiveness and role modeling of all the competencies of the specialist physician as outlined in the CANMEDS document.

Catherine Yu, Paul G. Walfish Continuing Professional Development Education Award in Endocrinology and Metabolism
This award recognizes excellence in teaching, educational leadership, program development and/or educational administration, and/or scholarship related to continuing professional development in the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of Toronto.

University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine

Andrew Kouri, 2019 Postgraduate Research Award - Chisholm Memorial Fellowship