Apr 2, 2018

Appointments & Awards: April 2018

About Us, Education, Faculty, Quality & Innovation, Research, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Emergency Medicine, Rheumatology, Cardiology, Hematology, General Internal Medicine, Nephrology


Canadian Medical Association

David Berbrayer, Honorary Membership to the Canadian Medical Association

Ontario Medical Association

David Berbrayer, OMA Council
Elected delegate to the OMA Council


Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Ahmed Taher, Top 3 Education Innovation Abstract Finalists
CAEP Abstract Awards are awarded annually by the CAEP Research Committee as part of the CAEP Abstract Competition. CAEP Annual Awards are given to recognize contributions to emergency medicine.

Canadian Rheumatology Association

Natasha Gakhal,Canadian Rheumatology Association Practice Reflection Gold Award 2018
Awarded to members who have developed CME self assessment/practice reflection programs that are straightforward and cost effective with a preference for projects that involved trainees.

Division of Rheumatology

Shirley Lake, Pfizer Chair in Rheumatology Research Award
Awarded to do research in quality improvement. Co-recipient with Drs. Natash Gakhal, Amanda Steiman and Jessica Widdifield.

Faculty of Medicine, Continuing Professional Development

Zaev Wulffhart, Interprofessional Health Care Team Continuing Education Award
This award recognizes excellence in interprofessional team continuing education and professional development designed to enhance interprofessional team practice to improve health care delivery.

Faculty of Medicine, Postgraduate Medical Education

Kevin Imrie, Charles Mickle Fellowship Award
This award is given annually to a member of the medical profession anywhere in the world, who in the opinion of the Postgraduate Executive Committee, has done the most within the preceding 10 years to advance and promote sound knowledge of a practical kind of medical art or science.

Stephen Hwang, Robert Sheppard Award for Health Equity and Social Justice
The Robert Sheppard Award recognizes outstanding contributions of faculty members and postgraduate trainees in the development and/or implementation of activities, programs or research related to social justice and health equity in faculty development or postgraduate medical education.

International Society for Peritoneal Dialysis

Joanne Bargman, Gabor Zellerman Award for Peritoneal Dialysis
The Gabor Zellerman Award was established in the memory of Dr. Gabor Zellerman by his wife, Lisa Hoffman, and recognizes lifetime contributions to the science and practice of peritoneal dialysis.

Mayday Fund

Andrea Furlan, Mayday Pain and Society Fellowship
The Fellowship builds the next generation of pain experts who can provide evidence-based and solutions-focused information about pain care and treatment, as well as promising research emerging in the field.

Ontario Medical Association

Ahmed Taher, OMA Resident Achievement Award
The Resident Achievement Award is awarded for outstanding contribution to the advancement of postgraduate training.

Ontario Ministry of Research Innovation and Science

Lihi Eder, Early Researcher Award
The Early Researcher Awards program gives funding to new researchers working at publicly funded Ontario research institutions to build a research team.

Resident Doctors of Canada

Ahmed Taher, Puddester Award for Resident Wellness
This awardrecognizes individuals who work to improve the wellness of residents across Canada.

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

David Smith, Kealin Wong and Wes Armstrong, Sonogames Award
An ultrasound skills competition. This winning team will be representing Toronto at the upcoming CAEP Sonogames in Calgary.